Texas A&M College of Dentistry is the single largest provider of oral health care services in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, with approximately 120,000 total patient visits per year. The college's mission is to improve the oral health of Texans and shape the future of dentistry by developing exemplary clinicians, educators and scientists, caring for the needs of a diverse community, serving as a leader in health professions education, and seeking innovations in science, education and health care delivery.

Degrees Offered

Doctor of Dental Surgery -- D.D.S.

Duration: 4 years
Requirements: Dental Admissions Test, 90 semester hours college course work (minimum)
See: Frequently Asked Questions for course requirements
Application Deadline: September 30
Start Term: Fall
Contact: Office of Recruitment and Admissions 
Email: admissions-dentistry@tamhsc.edu 

B.S. in Dental Hygiene

Specialization: Dental Hygiene
Duration: 2 years
Requirements: 60 semester hours college course work including core courses for B.S. degree
Application Deadline: January 5
Start Term: Fall
Contact: Office of Recruitment and Admissions 
Email: admissions-dentistry@tamhsc.edu

M.S. in Oral Biology

Students in the M.S. Program in the Department of Biomedical Sciences receive training in one or more of the following fields of study in the oral health sciences: Anatomy, Molecular and Cellular Biology, Neuroscience, Microbiology/Immunology, and Physiology/Pharmacology.

The program, leading to the M.S. degree in Oral Biology, is designed primarily to provide advanced scientific training for graduates of dental programs and students enrolled in a clinical specialty program at Texas A&M College of Dentistry. This program is also well suited for dental specialists from countries other than the United States who desire to obtain or improve their background in dental research.

Contact: Department of Biomedical Sciences

Ph.D. in Oral Biology

Students in the Ph.D. Program in the  Oral Biology (OBIO) Graduate Program in Department of Biomedical Sciences  receive training in the broad fields of Craniofacial Biology, Stomatology or Dental Materials. This training includes the advanced study of cell and molecular mechanisms, experimental studies, and clinical studies of development, growth, aging, function, disease, and treatment.

Work leading to the degree of doctor of philosophy (Ph.D.) is designed to give the candidate a thorough and comprehensive knowledge of a professional field and training in methods of research. The final basis for granting the degree is the candidate's mastery of the subject matter of a broad field of study and the demonstrated ability to do independent research. In addition, the candidate must acquire the ability to express thoughts clearly in both oral and written language.

Contact: Department of Biomedical Sciences

Graduation group

Graduates

Student Group

Join Our Mailing List
Email:
Safe Subscribe logo

Texas A&M University College of Dentistry
3302 Gaston Ave

Dallas, TX 75246
214-828-8100

Academic Departments

Residencies and Specialty Programs

Post-D.D.S. certificates programs are available in advanced education in general dentistry, endodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral and maxillofacial pathology, oral and maxillofacial radiology, orthodontics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, prosthodontics and public health sciences. 

Contact Advanced Education Programs


Advanced Education in General Dentistry

Dr. Amirali Zandinejad, Director
zandinejad@tamhsc.edu  

Dental Public Health
Dr. Peggy Timothé, Director
ptimothe@tamhsc.edu 

Endodontics
Dr. Gerald Glickman, Director
gglickman@tamhsc.edu 

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology
Dr. Yi-Shing Cheng, Director
ycheng@tamhsc.edu 

Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology
Dr. Diane Flint, Director
dflint@tamhsc.edu 

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Dr. Likith Reddy, Director
lreddy@tamhsc.edu 

Orthodontics
Dr. Larry Tadlock, Director
ltadlock@tamhsc.edu 

Pediatric Dentistry
Dr. Carolyn Kerins, Director
ckerins@tamhsc.edu 

Periodontics
Dr. Garth Griffiths, Director
griffiths@tamhsc.edu  

Prosthodontics
Dr. William Nagy, Director
wnagy@tamhsc.edu 

Biomedical Sciences Track
Dr. Kathy Svoboda, Director
ksvoboda@tamhsc.edu 

.